The Serenata Erminia

ISBN 978-88-95349-05-3

To order a copy of this score please contact the Istituto Italiano per la Storia della Musica.

The edition contains an extensive Introduction by the editor, Thomas Griffin, the Source Report,
and the complete Libretto of the serenata in Italian and English.
Here you may download the Libretto and the initial pages of the edition
as well as a short introduction to the work in English or Italian. If you are interested in performing the serenata,
vocal and instrumental parts are also available.

Music samples: one two three


* * *

The serenata consists of two parts. Only the music for the first part of Erminia is known to have survived.

If by chance you discover a manuscript score preserving the music for the second part of the serenata
(i.e. setting the text of part two as found in the Libretto above), please contact the editor
or the Istituto Italian per la Storia della Musica..

This would constitute a happy discovery indeed!

Update : Two arias and a recitative from Part Two of the serenata newly recovered.

Since the publication of this edition and the availability of the libretto above, two arias and a recitative from part two
of Erminia have been identified by Jennifer Ward of the RISM office in Frankfurt.
This discovery as well as the newly recovered music is reported in an article by Thomas Griffin
in the 2013 edition of the journal Studi Musicali.

Please note that subscriptions and renewals to Studi Musicali are no longer handled
through the publishing house of Olschki, but directly from the Accademia Nazionle di Santa Cecilia.